NFL broadcasters trumpet their slate

The NFL and its broadcasters revealed dates and network assignments for its 2015 slate of games, all leading into Super Bowl 50 on CBS next year.

NBC Sports once again launches the season starting Sept. 10 with NFL Kickoff 2015 pitting the Pittsburgh/New England. That will be followed by the Sunday Night Football opener on September 13 featuring NY Giants/Dallas. Overall, the channel will showcase 19 primetime games including the first Thanksgiving game in Green Bay in 92 years featuring Chicago/Green Bay. Overall, every 2014 playoff team makes an appearance on SNF this year, with national games on deck three times each for the Patriots, Seahawks, Packers, Broncos, Cowboys, and Steelers;

CBS hits the season with a Sunday lineup of 104 regular season games that includes New England/Dallas on 10/11, Denver/Indianapolis on 11/8, New England/N.Y. Giants on 11/15, Pittsburgh/Seattle on 11/29, N.Y. Jets/N.Y. Giants on 12/6 and Denver/Pittsburgh on 12/20. The network will also feature a Carolina/Dallas matchup on Thanksgiving Day.

Meanwhile, the 16-game Thursday Night Football lineup of games kicks off on Sept. 17 with some nice matchups on CBS and NFL Network beginning with Denver/Kansas City. This season marks the second year CBS Sports and NFL Network are partnering and will see games from Weeks 2-8 and Week 13 broadcast shared between the two channel. The Thursday Night Football schedule in Weeks 9-11 and Weeks 14-16, including two Saturday games on December 19 and 26, will be carried only on NFL Network, and simulcast on over-the-air stations. The schedule includes: Baltimore/Pittsburgh (Week 4); Atlanta/New Orleans (Week 6), Seattle/San Francisco (Week 7), Buffalo/New York Jets (Week 10), as well as Green Bay/Detroit (Week 13).

Around the dial on FOX, coverage is scheduled to feature 101 regular-season games, including nine installments of America’s Game of the Week. The franchise kicks off in Week 2 with an NFC East battle between Dallas/Philadelphia Eagles, while other featured contests will include Green Bay/ San Francisco (Oct. 4); Dallas/NY Giants (Oct. 25); Seattle/Dallas (Nov. 1); San Francisco/Seattle (Nov. 22); Philadelphia/New England Patriots (Dec. 6); Dallas/Green Bay (Dec. 13); Green Bay/Arizona (Dec. 27); and Seattle/Arizona (Jan. 3). The season opens on Sept. 13 with Green Bay/Chicago at 1p. The channel’s Thanksgiving matchup on Nov. 26 will see Philadelphia/Detroit at 12:30p.

As for Monday Night Football, ESPN takes the helm on Sept. 14 with a season-opening doubleheader pitting Philadelphia/Atlanta and Minnesota/San Francisco. Overall, seven teams will see two appearances each on the franchise: Baltimore Ravens, Cincinnati Bengals, Detroit Lions, Indianapolis Colts, New York Giants, Philadelphia Eagles and San Diego Chargers. The slate also includes the 17th meeting between Washington/Dallas on Dec. 7, tying the record for most-played series in Monday night history. Overall, ESPN’s 17-game schedule will feature all 12 playoff teams from 2014, including both the defending Super Bowl champion New England Patriots and NFC champion Seattle Seahawks.

Related Stories

Comedy Central gets serious

Comedy Central gets serious

Comedy Central’s The Opposition with Jordan Klepper will film a special episode, The Opposition Chaperones Democracy: Kids Just Wanna Take Guns, taping and airing Thursday, March 22. The episode, filmed in front of a Rockville, MD audience of activist teens, parents and rally attendees ahead of the March 24 gun reform March for Our Lives […]

Legacy brands, spinoffs bolster Discovery Family lineup

Legacy brands, spinoffs bolster Discovery Family lineup

Discovery Family is heralding the return of established kids and family content bolstered by the launch of new series that build on legacy brands- including a primetime Cake Boss spinoff that’ll be exclusive to the network. It’s also continuing to add more programming to the Discovery Family Go app for live and on-demand streaming. Family […]

Season 2 of Ready Jet Go! ready for blastoff on PBS Kids

Season 2 of Ready Jet Go! ready for blastoff on PBS Kids

Season 2 of animated space-themed series Ready Jet Go! blasts off Monday, April 2 on PBS Kids with a week of girl-empowering episodes featuring the adventures of Boxwood Terrace’s own Mindy Melendez, starting with the half-hour special “Mindy Turns 5”. More new eps will roll out each Wednesday in June and July.

NBC Sports makes another big rugby play

NBC Sports makes another big rugby play (Facebook)

NBC Sports Group inked a deal with European Professional Club Rugby that will feature an exclusive multi-year US media rights agreement for the Champions Cup. The agreement will see NBC Sports carry more than 150 hours of Champions Cup coverage next season across NBC, NBCSN, and its digital platforms. “We’re excited to partner with […]